Tags

, , , , , ,

Pratyasha Nithin

In a few hours, dawn was about to break. The forest was dark and scary. And in the middle of this scary forest, sat Taantrika Gampu Bhai, on the mat of skulls. He was old and extremely ugra. His half-closed eyes gave an impression of Him being sleepy and in no mood to tolerate non-sense. His aura was such that it would scare even the most valiant hearts. He loved being scary, since in this way, no one dared to disturb Him. And hence, He was able to do His favorite task i.e. Sitting idly.

However, when Gampu Bhai was sitting happily thinking that nobody would dare to disturb Him, a voice was heard “I love you this much, Gampu bhai!”

“What? Who?” Gampu Bhai suddenly opened his half-closed eyes and looked at the girl standing in front of Him. Her arms were spread widely to show how much she loved Him.

“Ah, it’s the girl who claims to be my sister!” thought Gampu Bhai and again sat keeping His eyes half-closed.

“I am drawing You today, Gampu Bhai!” She declared.

“Oh no, no, no! Don’t do that!” Gampu Bhai forgot all His seriousness and again looked at the girl.

“But, why?”

“You will draw me cute! I am not cute. Not at all! People are supposed to be scared of Me. You will ruin my reputation!”

“No, I won’t! I will portray You as scary as You are. Please, please, Gampu Bhai, I want to draw You.”

“Fine!” said Gampu Bhai, knowing that the girl won’t listen and again sat the way He was sitting before.

After an hour or so-

“Gampu Bhai look, I finished my drawing!”

Gampu Bhai opened His eyes curiously to see how she had drawn Him. He made an angry face. Why those skulls look cute? And what’s with that pant?”

“You don’t like it?” the girl asked sadly. “But, I thought, since you like skulls, You would love the skull pant.” and she started sobbing. Her sobs were filling the dense forest with annoying voices.

“Oh, it’s cute! I love it. Don’t cry!” said Gampu Bhai and smiled widely to control the crazy girl.

The girl jumped with happiness. After all, Taantrika Gampu Bhai was her favorite. Now the forest was filled with her laughter!

Gampu Bhai closed His eyes, troubled with the most crucial question”What do I do with this girl?”

The sketch is based on a sculpture of Taantrika Ganapati from Tjandi Singasari, Java.